Carolina Farm Credit Holds 15th Annual Ag Leadership Institute

Statesville, NC (PRWEB) March 29, 2015

Carolina Farm Credit recently hosted its 15th annual Agricultural Leadership Institute in Asheville, N.C. The institute, held at Omni Grove Park Inn in Asheville, N.C., brought together and celebrated young, beginning, and small farmers. It was created to equip these farmers to meet the challenges of modern agriculture and encourages the sharing of ideas and networking within the industry. This year’s 26 participants were couples or individuals from farms across Carolina Farm Credit’s territory and were selected for their leadership and achievements.

The dynamic and interactive three day seminar was led by Dr. David Kohl, professor emeritus at Virginia Tech and professional speaker, and Dr. Alex White, financial advisor and Virginia Tech Professor in the Department of Agriculture and Applied Economics. Dr. Kohl’s topics are designed to help participants meet the daily challenges of modern agriculture while maintaining balance between family business, family life, and personal life. Dr. White discussed the results of the participants DISC personality profiles that were completed online prior to the event and offered suggestions on how to work and interact with different personalities.

Other speakers for the Institute included Vance C. Dalton, Jr., CEO of Carolina Farm Credit; Dr. Ted Katsigianis, Vice President of Agriculture at the Biltmore Estate; Tom Haarmann, Manager of Financial Services with Carolina Farm Credit; and Dr. Michael Hester, Director of the Pastoral Counseling and Growth Center in Asheville. The group enjoyed a reception and dinner at the Omni Grove Park Inn Country Club on Friday evening that was attended by several area elected officials and Carolina Farm Credit Board members. A bluegrass band from the Asheville area including David Lee, Bryan Konsler, Dr. Randy Gardner, Bill Yarborough, Anthony Cole and George Roland provided entertainment at the reception. The group took a tour of the Biltmore House and learned about their various farms and agricultural projects on Saturday.

“We had a very engaged and extremely excited group this year,” said Vance C. Dalton, Jr., CEO of Carolina Farm Credit. “It was evident from their participation throughout the weekend that this group has a passion for agriculture and is committed to ensuring education remains an integral part of their future. Their dedication to continued education gives me a hopeful outlook for the future of North Carolina Agriculture. Additionally, the relationships established within the group will hopefully provide opportunities to network with each other and collaborate to be more successful on their individual farms. At Carolina Farm Credit, we are committed to providing educational opportunities for young, beginning, and small farmers that will ensure the future success of North Carolina Agriculture and allow us to stay connected with our customers.”

The participants voted to send three outstanding couples/attendees to the North Carolina Cooperative Leadership Conference in Hiawassee, GA later this year. The three outstanding couples/participants are Tim & May Hambrick, Dobson; Andrew & Melissa, Lail, Vale; and Michael & April Lassiter, Harmony.

Attendees of the 2015 conference were Aaron & Amanda Burleson, Richfield; Sam & Joan Butler, Mebane; Leila Gentry, Roxboro; Tim & May Hambrick, Dobson; Robbie & Crystal Hunt, East Bend; Andrew & Melissa Lail, Vale; Michael & April Lassiter, Harmony; Chad Miller & Stephanie Presley, North Wilkesboro; Ronnie Ross, Waynesville; Jeremy & Amanda Sizemore, Fletcher; Zac & Jennifer Tarlton, Wadesboro; Gregory Whitener & Amanda Kissell, Statesville; Brittany Whitmire & Andrew Voncanon, Brevard; Kou & Everline Yang, Candor.

A committee of Carolina Farm Credit employees also attended the conference as hosts, Bruce Arrington, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Asheville; Debra Brandon, AgriConsumer Loan Officer, Roxboro; Allyson Brake, Marketing Coordinator, Statesville Administrative Office; Ben Cabaniss, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Lincolnton; Teresa Dabbs, AgriConsumer Loan Officer, Yanceyville; Judy Hewitt, Marketing Administrative Assistant, Statesville Administrative Office; Jeremy Lee, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Conover; Kevin McGee, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Yadkinville; Melanie McLeod, AgriConsumer Loan Officer, Ellerbe; Tim Merritt, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Rural Hall; Matt Mintmier, Vice-President- Credit Manager, Asheboro; Mitchel Pridmore, AgriConsumer Loan Officer, Hendersonville; Jill Sigmon, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Conover; Donna Silvers, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Waynesville; Jody Smith, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Monroe; Dale Stevens, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Albemarle/Wadesboro; Carol Tucker, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Siler City; Dean White, Commercial Ag Loan Officer, Wilkesboro; Philip McAuley, Principal Appraiser, Concord; Tom Haarmann, Money Concepts, Financial Planning Manager; Scott Green, Senior Vice-President, Regional Lending Manager; Randy Rogers, Senior Vice-President, Regional Lending Manager; Fred Pittard, Senior Vice-President, Regional Lending Manager; Wayne Higgins, Senior Vice-President, Home Loan Department Manager; Maggie Hamm, Chief Marketing Officer; Chad Puryear, Chief Lending Officer; Jay Cook, Chief Credit Officer; Vance Dalton, Chief Executive Officer.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 36 branches. Other financial services available are credit life insurance, crop insurance, appraisal services, leasing programs and financial planning.

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 9,000 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $ 1.4 billion. The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branches located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Boone, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Concord, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Marshall, Mocksville, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wadesboro, Waynesville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Carolina Farm Credit was recognized as a 2015 Best Employer in North Carolina. The list of the Best Employers in North Carolina was created by Business North Carolina, the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) – NC State Council and Best Companies Group.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are Mark A. Bray, Chairman, Lawsonville; L. Kim Starnes, Vice-Chairman, Salisbury; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; David M. Coltrane, Pleasant Garden; Susie J. Gambill, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord; Tony L. Ragan, Sanford; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; Vickie N. Smitherman, East Bend; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.

Related Credit Offer Press Releases

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *